February 24, 2016

Missouri

Mo. Rev. Stat.
§ 578.013

Criminalizes failure to submit recordings of animal abuse to law enforcement within 24 hours.

This law makes it illegal for any “farm animal professional” who makes a digital recording of what he/she believes to be farm animal abuse or neglect, to fail to provide that recording to law enforcement within 24 hours of the recording. Violation of this law may result in misdemeanor charges.

This law was signed by Missouri’s Governor on July 9, 2012, and became effective on August 28, 2012.

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 578.405

Criminalizes “prohibited acts” against animal research and production facilities.

This law makes it illegal to, among other things, obtain access to an animal facility by false pretenses for the purpose of performing acts not authorized by the facility. Violators of this law may be ordered to pay restitution of reasonable costs to the owner or operator of the animal facility, as well as punitive damages, court costs, and attorneys’ fees.

The law was first enacted in 1992.

*     *     *

If you would like more information or would like to speak to a member of Constantine Cannon’s whistleblower lawyer team, please click here.